E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize

Since 1998, the Association for Logic, Language, and Information (FoLLI) has been awarding the annual E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding Ph.D. dissertations in Logic, Language, and Information, with financial support of the E.W. Beth Foundation.

FoLLI is committed to diversity and inclusion and we welcome dissertations from all under-represented groups.

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2022 E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize:

Alexander Bentkamp,  Superposition for Higher-Order Logics,  VU Amsterdam

The finalists for the prize are:
  • Vrunda Dave, On Some Fundamental Problems and Applications of Word Transducers,  IIT Bombay
  • Markus Hecher,  Advanced Tools and Methods for Treewidth-Based Problem Solving, Vienna University of Technology
  • Jonathan Sterling, First Steps in Synthetic Tait Computability, The Objective Metatheory of Cubical Type Theory, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Elodie Winckel, French Subject Islands: Empirical and Formal Approaches,  Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize committee 2022:

Maria Aloni (University of Amsterdam)
Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford University)
Robin Cooper (University of Gothenburg)
Guy Emerson (University of Cambridge)
Katrin Erk (University of Texas at Austin)
Tim Fernando (University College Dublin)
Christoph Haase (University of Oxford)
Reinhard Muskens (University of Amsterdam)
Francesca Poggiolesi (CNRS, IHPST)
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (University College London, chair)
Ana Sokolova (University of Salzburg)
Carla Umbach (University of Koeln)
Jouko Vaananen (University of Helsinki and University of Amsterdam)

Previous recipients of the prize have been:

  • 2021
    • Ilaria Canavotto, Where Responsibility Takes You, ILLC, Amsterdam
    • Martin Lück , Team Logic Axioms, Expressiveness, Complexity, Universität Hannover
  • 2020
    • Marcin Wągiel, Subatomic Quantification, Masaryk University, Brno
    • Juan Aguilera, Between the Finite and the Infinite, TU Wien
  • 2019 Dr. Bartosz Wcisło, Understanding the strength of compositional truth, University of Warsaw
  • 2018 İsmail İlkan Ceylan, Query Answering in Probabilistic Data and Knowledge Bases, Technical University of Dresden
  • 2017
    • Antoine Amarilli, Leveraging the structure of uncertain data, Télécom ParisTech
    • Ronald de Haan, Parameterized Complexity in the Polynomial Hierarchy, Technical University of Vienna
  • 2016 Thomas Zeume, Small Dynamic Complexity Classes, University of Dortmund
  • 2015 Michał Skrzypczak, Descriptive set theoretic methods in automata theory, University of Warsaw
  • 2014 Thomas Graf, Local and Transderivational Constraints in Syntax and Semantics, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 2013
    • Wesley H. Holliday, Knowing What Follows: Epistemic Closure and Epistemic Logic, Stanford University
    • Ekaterina Lebedeva, Expressing Discourse Dynamics via Continuations, University of Lorraine
  • 2012
    • Andreas Kapsner, Logics and Falsifications, University of Barcelona
    • Daniel R. Licata, Dependently Typed Programming with Domain-Specific Logics, Carnegie Mellon University
  • 2011
    • Nils Bulling, Modelling and Verifying Abilities of Rational Agents, TU Clausthal
    • Mohan Ganesalingam, The Language of Mathematics, University of Cambridge
  • 2010 Yury Savateev, Algorithmic Complexity of Fragments of the Lambek Calculus, Moscow State University
  • 2009
    • Emmanuel Chemla, Presuppositions and Scalar Implicatures: Formal and Experimental Studies, Ecole Normale Superieure de Paris
    • Lukasz Kaiser, Logic and Games on Automatic Structures, Aachen University
  • 2008
    • Tomas Brazdil, Verification of Probabilistic Recursive Sequential Programs, Masaryk University
    • Marco Kuhlmann, Dependency Structures and Lexicalized Grammars, Saarland University
  • 2007 Gabriele Puppis, Automata for Branching and Layered Structures, University of Udine
  • 2006
    • Leszek Kolodziejczyk, Truth Definitions and higher-Order Logics in Finite Models, Warsaw University
    • Chung-chieh (Ken) Shan, Linguistic Side Effects, Harvard University
  • 2005 Ash Asudeh, Resumption as Resource Management, Stanford University
  • 2004 John T. Hale, Grammar, Uncertainty and Sentence Processing, Michigan State University
  • 2003 Jason Baldridge, Lexically Specified Derivational Control in Combinatory Categorial Grammar, University of Edinburgh
  • 2002 Maria Aloni, Quantification under conceptual covers, University of Amsterdam
  • 2001 Gerald Penn, The Algebraic Structure of Attributed Type Signatures, University of Toronto
  • 2000
    • Jelle Gerbrandy, Bisimulations on Planet Kripke, University of Amsterdam
    • Khalil Sima’an, Learning Efficient Disambiguation, Universities of Amsterdam and of Utrecht
  • 1999
    • Peter Grünwald, The Minimum Description Length Principle and Reasoning under Uncertainty, University of Amsterdam
    • Matthew Stone, Modality in Dialogue: Planning, Pragmatics and Computation, University of Pennsylvania
  • 1998
    • Nir Friedman, Modeling Beliefs in Dynamic Systems, Stanford University
    • Lisa Matthewson, Determiner Systems and Quantificational Strategies: Evidence from Salish, University of British Columbia